Leaders for Kids Recognized


Voices for Vermont’s Children honored policymakers and advocates who are “Making a Difference for Kids” on Friday, May 9, at the Burlington Community Boathouse. The event featured Vermont legislators and policymakers who have made the concerns of children and youth a priority during the legislative biennium.

Voices also honored two individuals, Author Doug Wilhelm, and Lee Lauber, Executive Director of the Family Center of Washington County, who are strong advocates for children and youth. Doug Wilhelm received the Vermont KIDS COUNT Award for his strong commitment to giving young people a voice.

Doug’s books are about issues facing kids today and they give young people an authentic voice as they grapple with the real-life challenges they face today. For details about his books go to: http://www.the-revealers.com/meet-doug.html

Lee Lauber received the David Goldberg Child and Youth Advocacy Award in recognition of her life-long dedication, commitment, and dogged advocacy on behalf of Vermont children, youth, and families. As a founding member of Voices for Vermont’s Children nearly 25 years ago, Lee envisioned an organization dedicated to advocacy for kids of all ages and concerns. Armed with facts and commitment, Lee has helped to ensure that children and youth had a voice in and outside the Statehouse.

Greg Delanty, Associate Professor of English at St. Michael’s College and winner of a 2007 Guggenheim Fellowship, shared his award-winning poetry with us http://academics.smcvt.edu/gdelanty/

and Robert Resnick, host of All the Traditions on Vermont Public Radio offered lively music on his accordion http://www.vpr.net/program_about/47/.

Honored legislators and policymakers were Vermont Senators Ginny Lyons, Doug Racine and Diane Snelling; Representatives Janet Ancel, Sarah Edwards, Michael Fisher, Martha Heath, Mark Larson, Alice Miller, and Ann Pugh; Representative Duncan Kilmartin and Senator Jim Condos representing the Pre-K Study Committee, composed of Representatives Denise Barnard and Tim Jerman; Senators Don Collins and Vince Illuzzi, and Commissioner Steve Dale; and Judge Amy Davenport, representing the Juvenile Justice Revision Committee, composed of Bob Sheil, Jane Woodruff, Cindy Walcott, Bob Becker, Jody Racht, Pamela Marsh, Adele Pastor, Howard Kalfus, Jennifer Poehlmann, Shari Young and Kate Piper.

Generous support of the event was provided by:

The Retina Center of Vermont: http://www.retinacentervt.com/

Casey Family Services: http://www.caseyfamilyservices.org/index.php

Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Vermont: http://www.bcbsvt.com/

North Country Hospital: http://www.nchsi.org/

Many members and friends of Voices for Vermont’s Children

Sorry, comments are closed for this post.